Video: Alternate Training Methods Volume 2 – King of the Dancefloor

Ok! I know what you’re thinking. So I’ll start off with a little backgrounder.

I just recently got married (which explains the lack of posting and podcasting). So along with the many preparations for the wedding one of them is learning to dance so my wife and I do not tank our first dance as a married couple. Luckily because of my connections, I was able to get some really awesome ballroom dancing lessons from professional ballroom dancers at Resorts World Manila. Our first rehearsal and lesson happened last Saturday, October 8th (the video you see is from our second rehearsal so if we’re doing it wrong, BITE ME!). Oh and by the way, our first dance came out perfectly. We totally killed it!

I must admit. I underestimated the whole dancing being difficult thing and boy was I wrong. I also underestimated the fact that dancing can be fun (but very dizzying) and a good workout. Wrong again!

My wife also mentioned that ballroom dancing would be a good cross training exercise for my hockey. I agreed. So there. Besides, during the last month before the big day, I would not have too much time to do all sorts of cross training and keeping my insane workout schedule. So any chance I get to break a sweat, I’ll take (it just so happens that there are benefits to this exercise).

What are the benefits of ballroom dancing?

Well for one, QUICK FEET. No one can deny that having quick feet is important. There is not a single sport in the world where a person engaging in it cannot benefit from quick feet (and golf is a game, not a sport). Another benefit here is that it makes you more agile and like quick feet, agility is also very important in almost ALL sports.

Another thing, I got to do was do some lifting as well which is good for strength.

All in all dancing is a great exercise for athletes. There is no way in hell, I will say anything bad about ballroom dancers EVER!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment